Summer=Good (fresh) food

I just realized that I’ve really fallen behind on posting regularly. The past week has been pretty busy with some job interviews, some fun time, music, and dancing. The summer life is pretty good.

Over the past couple of days, I’ve decided that I not only need to learn how to cook, but to cook well. It’s rather annoying to have to constantly rely on the dining hall for a good meal–it’s just not going to happen. So I’ve taken to stocking fruit in my room, which has actually been a bit of challenge. I’ve already had to deal with fruit flies and some other kind of annoying pest. But I think that I got it under control now. I’m just hoping that my suite-mate doesn’t mind having so much stuff in the kitchen (and that she doesn’t eat it either!).

Tonight for dinner I made myself a half of a sandwich with a delicious bun, turkey, avocado, pickled peppers, a little mayo and mustard, topped off with some brie. Redundantly, it was delicious. To go with it on the side, I indulged in a banana and cooked some simple asparagus with olive oil and the classic salt and pepper.

Obviously, I’m no chef, but what I made was rather scrumptious, and I don’t feel bad giving myself a little pat on the back for a decent effort and final product.

I ate almost all of the asparagus and all of the banana before I remembered to take the picture…

I really love the summer time. It’s amazing how much fresher everything is, and how good everything tastes. For me, one of my all-time favorites is a classic BLT–which is always so much more delectable during the summer. But more than that, I love how easy it is to bring together friends over food during the summertime. I think the warm (but not too warm) Portland weather is enough for everyone to crawl out of their caves and become their best social creatures.

Leave a Reply

